You control the search privacy of your profile and every unclaimed profile you have added to Geni (NOTE: This means that as soon as someone joins Geni, they now control their search privacy).
You are included in our public search index by default. By default, the public (someone who is not your Friend, Family, or in your Forest) will only be able to view your profile photo, name, current location, and the name of the person who added you. You can specify what will appear when someone views your profile in your Profile Privacy settings.
You can control search privacy with the following settings:
* Settings->Permissions->Who can find me using search? - This determines whether your profile is included in our public search index * Settings->Managed Profiles->Living->Who can find them using search? - This determines whether living unclaimed profiles you have added are included in our public search index * Settings->Managed Profiles->Deceased->Who can find them using search? - This determines whether deceased unclaimed profiles you have added are included in our public search index
We allow Google to index our public search index. This means that if a profile is included in our public search results, it may also appear in Google search results.
We do not control if or when Google may index our search results, so your results may not appear in Google even though they appear in our search index. Your results may also continue to appear in Google search results after they have been removed from ours. They should disappear from Google results next time Google indexes our search results.
Please note that Google results include a link to a profile. What you will see when you click on that link will vary depending on your permission to view that link. For example, if the link is for a profile you have added, you may see the entire profile, while someone else clicking the same link may see a very limited profile.