Difference between revisions of "Search Privacy"

From Wiki

Jump to: navigation, search
Line 1: Line 1:
<center>
+
You control the search privacy of your profile and every unclaimed profile you have added to Geni (NOTE: This means that as soon as someone joins Geni, they now control their search privacy).
<big>'''[[Account Settings]]:'''</big>
 
  
[[Profile Privacy]] | [[Blocked Users]]  | '''Search Privacy''' | [[Notifications]] | [[Email & Password]]
+
'''Your Profile'''
</center>
 
  
'''Who can [[search]] for me?'''
+
You are included in our public search index by default. By default, the public (someone who is not your Friend, Family, or in your Forest) will only be able to view your profile photo, name, current location, and the name of the person who added you. You can specify what will appear when someone views your profile in your [[Profile Privacy]] settings.
  
By default, only members of your family tree or family friends can search for you,  but they will only be able to view your profile photo, your name, and your current location. If you want to change the privacy settings of your profile, you can do so on your [http://www.geni.com/account_settings/main/ Settings] page.  Clicking the checkbox 'Let people outside my tree search for me' will display a number of additional privacy settings.  You can then change the preferences below 'Show the following information:' by checking and unchecking the additional settings.
+
You can control search privacy with the following settings:
  
A single checkbox option, 'Searchable by the public' found in the Status row, can also be found in the [http://www.geni.com/profile/edit_basics/ Edit Profile->My Basics] window.
+
    * Settings->Permissions->Who can find me using search? - This determines whether your profile is included in our public search index
 +
    * Settings->Managed Profiles->Living->Who can find them using search? - This determines whether living unclaimed profiles you have added are included in our public search index
 +
    * Settings->Managed Profiles->Deceased->Who can find them using search? - This determines whether deceased unclaimed profiles you have added are included in our public search index
  
 +
We allow Google to index our public search index. This means that if a profile is included in our public search results, it may also appear in Google search results.
  
'''Who can search for a profile that I have added?'''
+
We do not control if or when Google may index our search results, so your results may not appear in Google even though they appear in our search index. Your results may also continue to appear in Google search results after they have been removed from ours. They should disappear from Google results next time Google indexes our search results.
  
By default, only members of your family tree or family friends can search for living, unclaimed profiles that you have added. By default, deceased profiles that you have added are searchable by anyone on Geni.
+
Please note that Google results include a link to a profile. What you will see when you click on that link will vary depending on your permission to view that link. For example, if the link is for a profile you have added, you may see the entire profile, while someone else clicking the same link may see a very limited profile.  
  
If visible, other users will only be able to view the profile photo, name, and current location. If you want to change the privacy settings of the profiles that you have added, you can do so on your [http://www.geni.com/account_settings/main/ Settings] page. Clicking the checkbox for living relatives that you have added or deceased relatives that you have added will display a number of additional privacy settings. You can then change the preferences below 'Show the following information:' by checking and unchecking the additional settings.
 
 
A single checkbox option, 'Searchable by the public' found in the Status row, can also be found in the Edit Profile->My Basics window of the profile in question.
 
  
 
{{documentation}}
 
{{documentation}}

Revision as of 22:35, 12 May 2008

You control the search privacy of your profile and every unclaimed profile you have added to Geni (NOTE: This means that as soon as someone joins Geni, they now control their search privacy).

Your Profile

You are included in our public search index by default. By default, the public (someone who is not your Friend, Family, or in your Forest) will only be able to view your profile photo, name, current location, and the name of the person who added you. You can specify what will appear when someone views your profile in your Profile Privacy settings.

You can control search privacy with the following settings:

   * Settings->Permissions->Who can find me using search? - This determines whether your profile is included in our public search index
   * Settings->Managed Profiles->Living->Who can find them using search? - This determines whether living unclaimed profiles you have added are included in our public search index
   * Settings->Managed Profiles->Deceased->Who can find them using search? - This determines whether deceased unclaimed profiles you have added are included in our public search index

We allow Google to index our public search index. This means that if a profile is included in our public search results, it may also appear in Google search results.

We do not control if or when Google may index our search results, so your results may not appear in Google even though they appear in our search index. Your results may also continue to appear in Google search results after they have been removed from ours. They should disappear from Google results next time Google indexes our search results.

Please note that Google results include a link to a profile. What you will see when you click on that link will vary depending on your permission to view that link. For example, if the link is for a profile you have added, you may see the entire profile, while someone else clicking the same link may see a very limited profile.

Personal tools