Profile merging

From Wiki

Revision as of 01:47, 10 December 2008 by Leann (talk | contribs)
Jump to: navigation, search

Pending merge means that you or someone else merged two profiles together (either to create a cycle or to eliminate duplicate siblings / spouses / etc.) The point of a "pending" merge is that it can be undone. While the merge is pending, you will see a primary profile in every place where either of those two profiles previously appeared, and from the profile page of the primary profile, you can access the "secondary" profile -- the one that will be eliminated once the merge is complete.

Once you're certain the two merged profiles are actually the same person, you should complete the merge (Complete Merge button atop the profile page of the secondary profile) and then delete the secondary profile once you've verified that the primary profile contains all of the data that was previously in the secondary profile. We'll be working to streamline this process in a future release.

The following rules are used to determine which profile is chosen as the Primary Profile:

  1. If one of the profiles is claimed but not the other, the claimed profile becomes primary.
  2. Otherwise, if one of the profiles has a greater "profile completeness" score (as seen on your own home page for yourself), that profile becomes primary.
  3. Otherwise, the profile that was dropped ONTO becomes primary.

Remember: The 'Added By' credit will go to the Primary Profile regardless of who added more content. Therefore, you may want to keep in mind the following rules when dragging and dropping the duplicates:

  • When dragging a floater from the sidebar and dropping it onto a duplicate node, the floater will become the secondary Profile.
  • When dragging and dropping duplicates in the Conflict Resolution Flow of a merge, the floater that you drag and drop onto the duplicate floater, will become the secondary Profile.


Merge My Duplicate Tree and Profile

If you have more than one Tree and/or a duplicate profile in another existing Tree you may wish to merge the two accounts. To do this, simply login to one of your accounts and add the email address for the other. You may do this by selecting Settings and Email and Passwords from the top, right-hand corner of your account page.

You will then be prompted to enter the password for the other account in order to merge the two Trees and Profiles into one. Be sure to have your account passwords handy so that you may complete this in one step. If you don't remember your password a confirmation email will also be sent to the other address from which you may select to merge the accounts by using the link included in that email.

Helpful Hints

If one of the merged profiles contains an email address only the profile owner may complete the merger on their node. This is the reason that you are only given the 'No-Undo' option on the 'Main' profile. You may wish to contact these people and ask that they login to complete the mergers on their profiles.

Also, keep in mind that if you are not the manager of the two merged profiles or manager of only one of the profiles then you will need to collaborate with the other manager in order to complete these mergers. You may do this by adding these people to your Family Group as the default setting for Managed Profiles is Family or Family Group may make edits. Once the other manager is a member of your Family Group both managers should have permission to merge that profile. Note: if one manager has updated their Permissions then they may need to loosen the setting to include Family.

Personal tools