Difference between revisions of "Managed Profiles"

From Wiki

Jump to: navigation, search
Line 8: Line 8:
  
 
<p>What do these settings mean?</p>
 
<p>What do these settings mean?</p>
 
  
  
Line 16: Line 15:
 
* Choose 'Only Me' if you don't want to grant anyone else access to edit these profiles.
 
* Choose 'Only Me' if you don't want to grant anyone else access to edit these profiles.
 
* Choose 'Our Family' to enable the people in your [[family group]] and the people in the managed profile's family group editing privileges.
 
* Choose 'Our Family' to enable the people in your [[family group]] and the people in the managed profile's family group editing privileges.
 
  
  
Line 23: Line 21:
 
* Choose 'All Connected Users' to enable anyone to find you who is connected to you via your [[forest]]
 
* Choose 'All Connected Users' to enable anyone to find you who is connected to you via your [[forest]]
 
* Choose 'Public' to allow any the ability to find you on Geni.
 
* Choose 'Public' to allow any the ability to find you on Geni.
 
 
  
  
Line 31: Line 27:
 
* Choose 'Our Tree' and 'Inlaw Trees' to enable the union of the people within your tree and the people in the Profile Manager's tree editing capabilities as well as those found within any trees connected to you by marriage.
 
* Choose 'Our Tree' and 'Inlaw Trees' to enable the union of the people within your tree and the people in the Profile Manager's tree editing capabilities as well as those found within any trees connected to you by marriage.
 
* Choose 'All Connected Users' to enable anyone to find you who is connected to you via your forest
 
* Choose 'All Connected Users' to enable anyone to find you who is connected to you via your forest
 
 
  
 
   
 
   
Line 40: Line 34:
 
* Choose 'Family's Family' to enable all of those whom share a family member with you.  
 
* Choose 'Family's Family' to enable all of those whom share a family member with you.  
 
* Choose 'Public' to allow any the ability to find you on Geni.
 
* Choose 'Public' to allow any the ability to find you on Geni.
 
 
  
  

Revision as of 05:06, 10 October 2008

All Account Settings:

Family Group | Profile Privacy | Profile Actions | Blocked Users | Managed Profiles | Recent Activity | Notifications | Email & Password


What do these settings mean?


Who can edit their profile?

  • Choose 'Only Me' if you don't want to grant anyone else access to edit these profiles.
  • Choose 'Our Family' to enable the people in your family group and the people in the managed profile's family group editing privileges.


Who can search for them?

  • Choose 'All Connected Users' to enable anyone to find you who is connected to you via your forest
  • Choose 'Public' to allow any the ability to find you on Geni.


Who can find them through the tree?

  • Choose 'Our Tree' and 'Inlaw Trees' to enable the union of the people within your tree and the people in the Profile Manager's tree editing capabilities as well as those found within any trees connected to you by marriage.
  • Choose 'All Connected Users' to enable anyone to find you who is connected to you via your forest


Who can see their full profile?

  • Choose 'Our Family' to enable the people in your family group and the people in the managed profile's family group editing privileges.
  • Choose 'Family's Family' to enable all of those whom share a family member with you.
  • Choose 'Public' to allow any the ability to find you on Geni.


You'll notice that you can choose separate settings for Living and Deceased Profiles you have added. This enables you to, for example, give your living relatives more privacy than your deceased relatives.

Keep in mind that when someone claims a profile you have added, they take over control of that profile and you are no longer the manager.

Personal tools