Geni is designed to help users collaborate with each other on building a shared family tree. When you find a profile that you'd like to collaborate on, you can send the manager a request to collaborate:
If the manager accepts your request, you will be able to:
- View and edit the unclaimed profiles they manage
- Merge duplicate profiles together
- Correct relationships in the tree
When you are viewing a profile managed by someone you are collaborating with you will see this:
- You must be a Pro user in order to collaborate with others. Basic users can accepts requests from others to collaborate on the profiles they manage.
- Use the "Request to Collaborate" on the very bottom of a user's profile to send a request to that user.
- Collaboration is not mutual. When someone accepts your request to collaborate, they will have the option to send you a request back. Accepting their request is optional and will not affect your ability to collaborate with them.
- Your collaborators do not gain any additional permissions on the living profiles you manage or on your own profile. Nor do they receive any additional family news stories about your activity.
- You can view a list of your collaborators on the new Collaborators settings page.
We now also include a list of Collaborators on the Profile page you are viewing so you may view and work with other users interested in the same profiles.
With Tree and Add Node Matches it is now easy to find duplicate profiles attached to your Tree. Each node added to or already in the Tree that has matches will show the number of matches in a magnifying glass like the image below:
Simply click on the magnifying glass and you will be taken to a list of 'Similar Profiles.' There you may request to Collaborate with the managers of those profiles, remove unwanted matches from that list and access the duplicate profile matches. You may notice there are 3 tabs: Connected, Not Connected, and Removed. These correspond with the Search filters and 'Removed' are those matches that you have removed from that list.
Collaborators may edit any living Shared Profiles on the site.