Blocked Users

From Wiki

Revision as of 20:02, 5 November 2008 by Jon.jaques (Talk | contribs)

Jump to: navigation, search

All Account Settings:

Family Group | Profile Privacy | Permissions | Blocked Users | Managed Profiles | Recent Activity | Notifications | Email & Password

What does it mean to block a user?

A blocked user is a member of your tree that you do not want viewing your information. If you add a user to your block list (on your Settings page) they will no longer be able to view your profile, your photo albums, or any of your profile information, such as your birthday, anniversary, current location, and birthplace. We will also remove these people from your calendar, map, and family photo albums, but you will continue to be able to see their profiles.

When a person you have blocked attempts to view your profile they will see your Search Result.


How do I block a user?

To block someone in your tree from viewing your Geni profile follow the steps below:

  1. Make sure you are logged into your Geni account.
  2. Select the Settings link at the top right side of your computer screen.
  3. Under the Block Users account setting type the name of the user your wish to block.
  4. Click the box next to the person's name in the dropdown menu.


How do I unblock a user?

Clicking the unblock link next to their name in the Currently Blocked list will unblock them. Please note, we do not send an email to notify users that you have blocked them.

Personal tools