Difference between revisions of "Blocked Users"

From Wiki

Jump to: navigation, search
m
 
(3 intermediate revisions by 2 users not shown)
Line 2: Line 2:
 
<big>'''[[All Account Settings]]:'''</big>
 
<big>'''[[All Account Settings]]:'''</big>
  
[[Family Group]] | [[Profile Privacy]] | [[Permissions]] | [[Blocked Users]] | [[Managed Profiles]] | [[Recent Activity]] | [[Notifications]] | [[Email & Password]]
+
[[Family Group]] | [[Profile Privacy]] | [[Permissions]] | [[Blocked Users]] | [[Managed Profiles]] | [[Child Privacy]] | [[Recent Activity]] | [[Notifications]] | [[Email & Password]] | [[Billing Information]] | [[Geni Pro Account]]
 
</center>
 
</center>
  
 
'''What does it mean to block a user?'''
 
'''What does it mean to block a user?'''
  
A blocked user is a member of your tree that you do not want viewing your information. If you add a user to your block list (on your [[Settings]] page) they will no longer be able to view your profile, your photo albums, or any of your profile information, such as your birthday, anniversary, current location, and birthplace. We will also remove these people from your [[calendar]], [[map]], and family [[albums|photo albums]], but you will continue to be able to see their [[profile|profiles]].
+
A blocked user is a member of your tree that you do not want changing your information or contacting you. When you block a user:
  
When a person you have blocked attempts to view your profile they will see your [[Search Result]].
+
* Any friend, family group, or collaborator relationship is removed
 +
* They can't see your email address or the email address on any profile you manage
 +
* They can't edit any profiles you manage
 +
* They can't contact you
 +
* They can't tag or comment on any photos which you uploaded
  
 +
We will also remove these people from your [[calendar]], [[map]], and family [[albums|photo albums]], but you will continue to be able to see their [[profile|profiles]].
  
 
'''How do I block a user?'''
 
'''How do I block a user?'''
  
To block someone in your tree from viewing your Geni profile follow the steps below:
+
To block someone in your tree follow the steps below:
 
+
# Make sure you are logged into your Geni account.
+
# Select the '''[http://www.geni.com/account_settings/main/ Settings]''' link at the top right side of your computer screen.
+
# Under the '''Block Users''' account setting type the name of the user your wish to block.
+
# Click the box next to the person's name in the dropdown menu.
+
  
 +
# Make sure you are logged into your Geni account
 +
# Select the Profile of the person you would like to block.
 +
# At the bottom of the page you will see the message 'Block this User'
 +
# Selecting 'Block this User' will add this person to the Blocked Users list under 'Settings.'
  
 
'''How do I unblock a user?'''
 
'''How do I unblock a user?'''
  
Clicking the unblock link next to their name in the Currently Blocked list will unblock them. Please note, we do not send an email to notify users that you have blocked them.
+
Clicking the unblock link next to their name in the Currently Blocked list under [http://www.geni.com/account_settings/blocked_users Settings] will unblock them. Please note, we do not send an email to notify users that you have blocked them.
  
 
{{documentation}}
 
{{documentation}}

Latest revision as of 16:43, 20 July 2009

All Account Settings:

Family Group | Profile Privacy | Permissions | Blocked Users | Managed Profiles | Child Privacy | Recent Activity | Notifications | Email & Password | Billing Information | Geni Pro Account

What does it mean to block a user?

A blocked user is a member of your tree that you do not want changing your information or contacting you. When you block a user:

  • Any friend, family group, or collaborator relationship is removed
  • They can't see your email address or the email address on any profile you manage
  • They can't edit any profiles you manage
  • They can't contact you
  • They can't tag or comment on any photos which you uploaded

We will also remove these people from your calendar, map, and family photo albums, but you will continue to be able to see their profiles.

How do I block a user?

To block someone in your tree follow the steps below:

  1. Make sure you are logged into your Geni account
  2. Select the Profile of the person you would like to block.
  3. At the bottom of the page you will see the message 'Block this User'
  4. Selecting 'Block this User' will add this person to the Blocked Users list under 'Settings.'

How do I unblock a user?

Clicking the unblock link next to their name in the Currently Blocked list under Settings will unblock them. Please note, we do not send an email to notify users that you have blocked them.

Personal tools