When you add new profiles to whether they may be your ancestors or living relatives they are managed unless they join the site. You may update the Privacy and Permissions of those profiles you manage under 'Settings' and 'Managed Profiles.'
When two profiles are merged, the manager from each profile then becomes a co-manager of the merged profile. For example, if Jane and Bob both added a profile for Mark, once the merge is completed, both Jane and Bob will be listed as managers and may edit that merged profile.
Any user may request management of any unclaimed profile they are connected to. To do this, select the profile and then 'More Actions' on the profile page. The drop down menu will open and you may select 'Request Management.'
A request is then sent to the manager for approval, if accepted, you will take over management from the current manager listed on the profile.
Any current manager may add a new manager to the profile. To do this, select the profile and then 'More Actions' on the profile page. The drop down menu will open and you may select 'Add Manager.'
A request is then sent to the potential manager for approval, if accepted, that person will then be added to the list of managers under Managed By on the profile page.
If you wish to remove yourself as a manager from a profile you may do this only if there are multiple managers listed on the profile already. When visiting the profile page you will see an 'x' next to 'Me' in the Managed By list. Selecting this 'x' will remove your name from the Managers list and your management of that profile.