Managed Profiles

From Wiki

Jump to: navigation, search

All Account Settings:

Family Group | Profile Privacy | Permissions | Blocked Users | Managed Profiles | Child Privacy | Recent Activity | Notifications | Email & Password | Billing Information | Geni Pro Account

By default, you manage the profiles you have added to the tree.

What do these settings mean?


Who can edit their profile?

By default, anyone in your family or their family can edit their profile. You can restrict editing of these profiles to only you.

  • Choose 'Only Me' if you don't want to grant anyone else access to edit these profiles.
  • Choose 'Our Family' to enable the people in your family group and the people in the managed profile's family group editing privileges.


Who can search for them?

All profiles are searchable by anyone connected to them. The profile manager controls whether the profile is included in our public search index. By default, deceased profiles are included in our public search index.

  • Choose 'All Connected Users' to enable anyone to find you who is connected to you via your forest
  • Choose 'Public' to allow any the ability to find you on Geni.


Who can find them through the tree?

Choose whether their node is viewable by the forest or by anyone who can navigate to them on the tree.

  • Choose 'Our Tree' and 'Inlaw Trees' to enable the union of the people within your tree and the people in the Profile Manager's tree editing capabilities as well as those found within any trees connected to you by marriage.
  • Choose 'All Connected Users' to enable anyone to find you who is connected to you via your forest


Who can see their full profile?

By default, anyone in your family's family or their family's family can view their whole profile. You can restrict this to your family and their family, or increase it to anyone. Users who don't have permission to see the full profile will only see their name, profile photo, location, and profile manager's name. Deceased profiles also include the first names of their immediate family and their lifespan.

  • Choose 'Our Family' to enable the people in your family group and the people in the managed profile's family group editing privileges.
  • Choose 'Family's Family' to enable all of those whom share a family member with you.
  • Choose 'Public' to allow any the ability to find you on Geni.


You'll notice that you can choose separate settings for Living and Deceased Profiles you have added. This enables you to, for example, give your living relatives more privacy than your deceased relatives.

Keep in mind that when someone claims a profile you have added, they take over control of that profile and you are no longer the manager.


Request Management

Sometimes you’ll find that a profile is more relevant to you than to the manager. Use the Request Management of this Profile link at the bottom of a profile to request management. If the manager approves, you will be the new manager of that profile.

Personal tools