Blocked Users

From Wiki

Jump to: navigation, search

All Account Settings:

Family Group | Profile Privacy | Permissions | Blocked Users | Managed Profiles | Child Privacy | Recent Activity | Notifications | Email & Password | Billing Information | Geni Pro Account

What does it mean to block a user?

A blocked user is a member of your tree that you do not want changing your information or contacting you. When you block a user:

  • Any friend, family group, or collaborator relationship is removed
  • They can't see your email address or the email address on any profile you manage
  • They can't edit any profiles you manage
  • They can't contact you
  • They can't tag or comment on any photos which you uploaded

We will also remove these people from your calendar, map, and family photo albums, but you will continue to be able to see their profiles.

How do I block a user?

To block someone in your tree follow the steps below:

  1. Make sure you are logged into your Geni account
  2. Select the Profile of the person you would like to block.
  3. At the bottom of the page you will see the message 'Block this User'
  4. Selecting 'Block this User' will add this person to the Blocked Users list under 'Settings.'

How do I unblock a user?

Clicking the unblock link next to their name in the Currently Blocked list under Settings will unblock them. Please note, we do not send an email to notify users that you have blocked them.

Personal tools