Search Privacy

From Wiki

Jump to: navigation, search

You control the search privacy of your profile and every unclaimed profile you have added to Geni (NOTE: This means that as soon as someone joins Geni, they now control their search privacy).

Your Profile

You are included in our public search index by default. By default, the public (someone who is not your Friend, Family, or in your Forest) will only be able to view your profile photo, name, current location, and the name of the person who added you. You can specify what will appear when someone views your profile in your Profile Privacy settings.

You can control search privacy with the following setting:

Settings->Permissions->Who can find me using search? - This determines whether your profile is included in our public search index

Unclaimed Living Profiles

Unclaimed Living Profiles you added are not included in our public search index by default.

You can control the search privacy of unclaimed living profiles you have added with the following setting:

  • Settings->Managed Profiles->Living->Who can find them using search? - This determines whether living unclaimed profiles you have added are included in our public search index
  • Settings->Managed Profiles->Living->What can be seen in their profile?->Full profile - This determines who can view their full profile

Unclaimed Deceased Profiles

Unclaimed deceased profiles you add are included in our public search index by default. By default, the public (someone who is not in your Forest) will only be able to view their profile photo, name, current location, Firest names of immediate family, and the name of the person who added them (in this case, your name).

You can control search privacy with the following settings:

  • Settings->Managed Profiles->Deceased->Who can find them using search? - This determines whether deceased unclaimed profiles you have added are included in our public search index
  • Settings->Managed Profiles->Deceased->What can be seen in their profile?->Full profile - This determines who can view their full profile

Search Engines

We allow search engines such as Google to index our public search index. This means that if a profile is included in our public search results, it may also appear in Google search results.

We do not control if or when Google may index our search results, so your results may not appear in Google even though they appear in our search index. Your results may also continue to appear in Google search results after they have been removed from ours. They should disappear from Google results next time Google indexes our search results.

Please note that Google results include a link to a profile. What you will see when you click on that link will vary depending on your permission to view that link. For example, if the link is for a profile you have added, you may see the entire profile, while someone else clicking the same link may see a very limited profile.

Personal tools